“John Beasley’s big band MONK’estra tackles “Thelonious Monk’s classic material with flair and mischief, highlighting the wit at the heart of his music with a razor-sharp ensemble playing with rhythmic authenticity.”

Featuring music from double-GRAMMY® nominated MONK’estra Vol. 1 and MONK’estra Vol. 2.

“Some of the most mesmerizing big band music of recent memory.”

BAND: Conductor/Arranger/Pianist: John Beasley

Bass: Ben Williams, Drums: Terreon Gully

Trombones: Conrad Herwig, Frank Lacy, James Burton

Trumpets: Bijon Watson, Brian Lynch, Scott Wendholt, Dontae Winslow

Sax: Bob Sheppard, Oliver Santana, Greg Tardy, Adam Kolker, Dave Riekenberg

The show will be LIVE STREAMed so your family, friends from anywhere around the world can watch in real time. Please share!

Download Detroit Jazz Fest LIVE! app at live.detroitjazzfest.org or Google Play Store – $10.

Detroit News – http://www.detroitnews.com/story/entertainment/music/2017/04/19/performer-highlights-announced-jazz-fest/100663358/


No comments

You can be the first one to leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>