John Beasley presents MONK’estra Vol. 1

“Some of the most mesmerizing big band music of recent memory.” Don Heckman, IROM

Grammy-nominated musician and MACK AVENUE artist John Beasley leads MONK’estra, an infectious melodic and rhythmic 15-piece big band that captures Thelonious Monk’s spirit, humor and unbounded swing in fresh arrangements infused with a New Orleans shuffle, hip-hop, Afro-Cuban rhythms and atmospheric colors.


MONK’estra musicians:
Bijon Watson
Brian Swartz
Dontae Winslow
Jamie Hovorka

Wendell Kelly
Ryan Dragonn
Steve Hughes
Lemar Guillary

Bob Sheppard
Danny Janklow
Justo Almario
Tom Luer
Tom Peterson

Bass: Benjamin Shepherd
Drums:  Terreon Gully
John Beasley: Conductor/Arranger – piano, melodica